Home / Member Profile / Member Profile – Debbie

Member Profile – Debbie

Debbie is an inspiration to many in NETF. Whether she is at a Master’s Swim practice or biking and running around town, she always has a smile on her face and a sunny disposition. Deb is super speedy and has graced the podium on numerous occasions. Not only is she an accomplished athlete, she is positive, encouraging, and fun. Read on to get to know one of the original club members, Plainville resident, courageous competitor, and busy Mom of three boys.

When and Why did you Start Training for Triathlons? My first triathlon was the Danskin in 2007. I only did it because 5 of my friends were doing it (none of them continued). I had to go out and buy a bike.

What is your Athletic Background? I was a competitive spring board diver from age 8 – 15 yrs old. I came in 7th (on the 3 meter tower) and 12th (on the 7 meter tower) in the Nationals in Texas (Junior Olympics). I trained with the Morningside Muggers in New York. I didn’t start running until 8 years ago.

What is your Most Memorable/Favorite Race and Why? Definitely the Patriot 1⁄2 Ironman. I was so nervous to sign up and it felt so out of my comfort zone. I went into my training really believing that I might not finish. I enjoyed all the training and loved the race even more. I was so proud of myself the whole way and finished feeling strong! Loved having so many people I knew there competing and volunteering.

What Races are you Excited for next season? Hockomock Y Tri Sprint, Cranberry Olympic, and Zooma Half Marathon.

What is your Favorite Place to Run/Ride? I love running from my house because it is so rural and quiet, but really I love running anywhere as long as I have my running buddies with me. My favorite ride is the 60 mile Beehive Cafe ride along the Blackstone Valley/Narragansett Bike Paths with the club.

What do you do when you’re not Training? I take care of my 3 boys and their busy schedules. I love volunteering at the school and I am a reading buddy and mentor. I enjoy reading when I am not watching reality shows (I will not confess to which ones I watch!) I love to ski in the winter and boat in the summer. I’m looking forward to improving my water sport skills, which won’t be too hard since I don’t really have any yet! I also recently went back to work as a nursing home social worker.

What is a Fun Fact about you? My boys were born at 8lb15oz, 9lb14oz, and 10lbs… and I was early with all of them!

SPEED ROUND

You would never train without your… Friends, Chew’s or Gu’s? Gu’s, Open Water or Pool? Pool, Swim, Bike, or Run? Run!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Top